Project Description

China is a major producer of protective clothing, and we encourage domestic protective clothing manufacturers to export protective clothing and contribute to the global fight against the epidemic.

Medical protective clothing is a broad concept that encompasses all types of clothing worn in a medical setting.

Method of classification:

By purpose and use: daily work clothes, surgical clothes, isolation suits, protective clothing, etc.

By useful life: single-use and reusable.

Processing by material: non-woven and woven.

Main roles:

Medical protective clothing blocks microbial, particulate matter and fluid infiltration, withstands disinfection, is durable, abrasion-resistant, tear-resistant, puncture-resistant and resistant to fiber strain; produces a bacterial barrier layer to prevent bacterial swim migration and reduce cross-infection

Common standards:

Currently, the more common international standards are the US NIOSH (National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health) standards and the EU EN standards.

The U.S. standard for medical protective clothing is “NFPA 1999”, developed by the NFPA (National Fire Protection Association), which applies to medical emergencies and establishes minimum standards for the protection of persons against blood and body fluids, dividing the protection of the human body into four categories: head, body (all parts except the head, hands and feet), hands and feet, and the products are classified according to these four functions.

(1) Face protection includes droplet-proof eye protection, helmets with hoods, masks, etc.

(2) There are two types of protective clothing, disposable and reusable, including separates and one-piece overalls, for use by patients.

(3) Isolation bags, aprons, sleeves, etc.

(4) Disposable first aid gloves.

(5) First aid shoes.

EU standards are set by the CEN (European Standards Committee). Regions such as Australia have their own standards for medical protective clothing.

Export protective clothing must comply with the appropriate national standards and be certified and registered. For example, NFPA 1999 in the United States establishes strict certification requirements.

(1) The certification body is independent of the production enterprise and may not be used for profit.

(2) A rigorous certification process whereby certified products must use certification labels.

(3) Manufacturers shall provide technical information, including certification and compliance certificates, to sellers and users.

(4) A sound product quality inspection system and working procedures.

Certification standards:

International Standard:

ISO 16603:2004 EN

ISO 16604:2004 EN

ISO 22609:2004 EN

ISO 22612:2005 EN

IEC 61331-3-2014


EN 14126-2003

EN ISO 22612:2005

EN 61331-3:2014

United States:

ASTM F903-2018


ANSI/NFPA 1999-2008

ASTM F1670/F1670M-2017A

ASTM F1671/F1671M-2013

ASTM F2878-2019

ASTM F3050-2017

ASTM 1999-2018


JIS T 8060:2015

JIS T 8061:2015

JIS T 8062:2010

JIS T 8115:2010

JIS T 8122:2015

JIS T 61331-3:2016


KS K ISO 16603-2017

KS K ISO 22610-2015

KS K ISO 22612-2018

KS K ISO 6529-2015

KS K ISO 16604-2017

KS K ISO 22609-2012